ITG



ARCS 2012

25TH INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE ON ARCHITECTURE OF COMPUTING SYSTEMS THIS YEAR FOCUS: PLATFORMS FOR EMBEDDED COMPUTING

TU München, Germany February 28 - March 02, 2012 www.arcs2012.tum.de

CALL FOR PAPERS

Submission Deadline: October 7, 2011 (extended)

The ARCS series of conferences has over 30 years of tradition reporting top notch results in computer architecture and operating systems research. The focus of the 2012 conference will be on platforms for embedded computer systems. Like the previous conferences in this series, it continues to be an important forum for computer architecture research.

In 2012 ARCS will be organized by the Institute for Integrated Systems of TU München and will be hosted by the Institute of Advanced Studies (IAS), Garching campus near Munich.

The proceedings of ARCS 2012 will be published in the Springer Lecture Notes on Computer Science (LNCS) series (pending). After the conference, authors of selected papers will be invited to submit an extended version of their contribution for publication in a special issue of the Journal of Systems Architecture. Also, a best paper and best presentation award will be presented at the conference.

Paper submission: Authors are invited to submit original, unpublished research papers on one of the following topics:

- Architectures and design methods/tools for robust, failure tolerant, real time embedded systems.
- Cyber physical systems and distributed computing architectures.
- Multi-/manycore architectures, memory subsystems, and communication architectures for reliable systems.
- Tool support for manycore systems including but not limited to programming models, runtime systems, middleware, and verification.
- Generic and application specific accelerators for multicore architectures.
- Adaptive system architectures such as reconfigurable systems in hardware and software.
- Organic and Autonomic Computing including both theoretical and practical results on selforganization, self-configuration, self-optimization, self-healing, and self-protection techniques.
- Operating Systems including but not limited to scheduling, memory management, power management, and RTOS.
- Energy-aware computing, power efficient computing architectures.
- System aspects of ubiquitous and pervasive computing such as sensor nodes, novel input/output devices, novel computing platforms, architecture modeling, and middleware.
- Applications of manycore embedded systems.

Submissions should be done through the link that is provided at the conference website http://www.arcs2012.tum.de. Papers should be submitted in pdf or postscript format.

They should be formatted according to Springer LNCS style (see: http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/authors.html) and not exceed 12 pages.

Workshop and Tutorial Proposals: Proposals for workshops and tutorials within the technical scope of the conference are solicited. Submissions should be done through email directly to the corresponding chairs:

Gero Mühl, University of Rostock, Germany, (gero.muehl@uni-rostock.de) Jan Richling, TU Berlin, Germany, (richling@cs.tu-berlin.de)

Important Dates:

Paper submission deadline: October 7, 2011
Workshop and tutorial proposals: October 15, 2011
Notification of acceptance: November 20, 2011
Camera ready papers: December 15, 2011

Organizing Committee:

General Chair

Andreas Herkersdorf, TU München, Germany

Program Co-Chairs

Kay Römer, University of Lübeck, Germany Uwe Brinkschulte, University of Frankfurt, Germany

Workshop Chair

Gero Mühl, University of Rostock, Germany

Tutorial Chair

Jan Richling, TU Berlin, Germany

Local Organization and Publication Chair

Walter Stechele, TU München, Germany

Finance Chair

Thomas Wild, TU München, Germany

Program Committee:

Michael Beigl, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany Frank Bellosa, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany Mladen Berekovic, TU Braunschweig, Germany Koen Bertels, Technical University of Delft, Netherlands Arndt Bode, TU München, Germany Plamenka Borovska, TU Sofia, Bulgaria Jürgen Brehm, Leibniz University Hannover, Germany Uwe Brinkschulte, University of Frankfurt, Germany Philip Brisk, UC Riverside, United States Jiannong Cao, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong João M. P. Cardoso, Universidade do Porto/FEUP, Portugal Luigi Carro, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brasil Koen De Bosschere, Ghent University, Belgium Oliver Diessel, University of New South Wales, Australia Nikitas Dimopoulos, University of Victoria, Canada Ahmed El-Mahdy, Alexandria University, Egypt Paolo Faraboschi, HP Labs Barcelona, Spain Fabrizio Ferrandi, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

Alois Ferscha, University of Linz, Austria

Pierfrancesco Foglia, Universita di Pisa, Italy

William Fornaciari, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

Björn Franke, Univ. of Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Roberto Giorgi, Universita di Siena, Italy

Daniel Gracia-Pérez, CEA, France

Jan Haase, TU Wien, Austria

Jörg Henkel, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Andreas Herkersdorf, TU München, Germany

Christian Hochberger, TU Dresden, Germany

Murali Jayapala, IMEC, Belgium

Gert Jervan, Tallin University of Technology, Estonia

Ben Juurlink, TU Berlin, Germany

Wolfgang Karl, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Andreas Koch, TU Darmstadt, Germany

Krzysztof Kuchcinski, Lund University, Sweden

Olaf Landsiedel, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden

Paul Lukowicz, University of Passau, Germany

Erik Maehle, University of Lübeck, Germany

Tom Martin, Virginia Tech, United States

Dragomir Milojevic, ULB Brussel, Belgium

Luca Mottola, Swedish Institute of Computer Science, Sweden

Christian Müller-Schloer, Leibniz University Hannover, Germany

Dimitrios Nikolopoulos, FORTH, Greece

Alex Orailoglu, UCSD, United States

Kay Römer, University of Lübeck, Germany

Pascal Sainrat, Universite Paul Sabatier, Toulouse, France

Silvia Santini, ETH Zürich, Switzerland

Toshinori Sato, Fukuoka University, Japan

Yiannakis Sazeides, University of Cyprus, Cyprus

Martin Schulz, LLNL, United States

Karsten Schwan, Georgia Tech, United States

Cristina Silvano, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

Leonel Sousa, TU Lisbon, Portugal

Rainer G. Spallek, TU Dresden, Germany

Olaf Spinczyk, University of Dortmund, Germany

Benno Stabernack, Fraunhofer HHI, Germany

Jarmo Takala, Tampere University of Technology, Finland

Djamshid Tavanagraian, University of Rostock, Germany

Jürgen Teich, Universität Erlangen, Germany

Pedro Trancoso, University of Cyprus, Cyprus

Theo Ungerer, University of Augsburg, Germany

Stephane Vialle, Supelec, France

Lucian Vintan, Lucian Blaga University of Sibiu, Romania

Klaus Waldschmidt, University of Frankfurt, Germany

Stephan Wong, Technical University of Delft, Netherlands

Sami Yehia, Thales Research and Technology, France